Chemistry News

Jacob Petrich selected as Honorary Member of Golden Key International Honour Society

Golden Key is a collegiate honor society that recognizes outstanding academic performance and high achieving individuals in all academic fields of study. Each year, five individuals are selected as Honorary Members due to their outstanding achievements at Iowa State University. Dr. Petrich.s selection was based on his commitment to higher education and his outstanding job in service to the Chemistry Department as well as the university.

Arthur Winter honored with Iowa State's Caldwell Chair in Chemistry

more info...

Walt Trahanovsky and Ron Holton discover method to create high-value chemicals from biomass

Iowa State University researchers have found a way to produce high-value chemicals such as ethylene glycol and propylene glycol from biomass rather than petroleum sources. more info...

Pat Thiel named LAS Master Teacher for 2010-2011

more info...

Theresa Windus nominated to the JPC A/B/C Editorial Advisory Board

Professor Theresa Windus has been invited to be a member of the JPC A/B/C Editorial Advisory Board. This is a three year appointment (2011-2014). The JPC Journal publishes high impact research in physical chemistry; atomic, molecular and chemical physics; and nanoscience and nanotechnology. Out of 121 journals in the Physical Chemistry category, The Journal of Physical Chemistry B ranks #1 in total citations with 107,337 total cites.

ISU researchers discover cause of immune system avoidance of certain pathogens

Two Iowa State University researchers discovered that a special set of sugars found on some disease-causing pathogens helps those pathogens fight the body's natural defenses as well as vaccines. This discovery may be a first step in understanding a disease family that includes tuberculosis for which there are currently no good vaccines or cures.
more info...

2009-2010 Faculty and Graduate Student Awards

The 2009-2010 faculty and graduate student awards were presented during the Chemistry Department's Convocation on August 27, 2010. Associate Department Chair Keith Woo was the master of ceremonies and Professor Theresa Windus assisted.
more info...

Congratulations to Walt Trahanovsky and John Verkade for being named 2010 ACS Fellows

They will be honored at the American Chemical Society's fall national meeting in Boston later this month.
more info...

Chemistry grad student on Ultimate world championship team in Czech Republic

Kurt Brorsen, a grad student in the department of chemistry, was a member of the ISU based team that won the mixed division of the World Ultimate Club Championships in Prague, Czech Republic by beating a Canadian team by a score of 17-10 in the finals.
more info...

Nicola Pohl receives the Horace S. Isbell Award

Nicola Pohl, professor of chemistry, has been selected as the 2010 recipient of the Horace S. Isbell Award from the American Chemical Society Carbohydrate Division. This award, to be presented at the fall ACS meeting, acknowledges excellence in and promise of continued quality of contribution to research in carbohydrate chemistry.
more info...

Sarah Cady wins the Karas Award for Outstanding Dissertation

Congratulations to Sarah Cady, PhD 2009 and current post-doc in Professor Mei Hong's group, for winning the Karas Award. The Karas Award for Outstanding Dissertation has been established to recognize excellence in doctoral research at Iowa State University. Each year the two winners of this award become Iowa State University's nominees to the national competition for the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS)/University Microfilms International (UMI) Distinguished Dissertation Award.

Mei Hong receives ICMRBS Founders Medal

Mei Hong, Professor of Chemistry, has been selected as the recipient of the 2010 International Council on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems Founders Medal. This award is given biennially to a young scientist who has made exceptional contributions to the development or progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems.
more info...

Iowa State, Ames Lab researchers preparing for Blue Waters supercomputer

Iowa State University and Ames Laboratory researchers, left to right, Theresa Windus, Monica Lamm and Mark Gordon are working to scale up their computational chemistry tools for the Blue Waters supercomputer being developed at the University of Illinois and its National Center for Supercomputing Applications.
more info...

Victor Lin, Chemistry, named next Corbett Professor

Victor Lin will hold the second John D. Corbett Professorship in chemistry at Iowa State.

Aaron Sadow Receives National Science Foundation CAREER Award

Aaron Sadow, assistant professor of Chemistry at Iowa State University, received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, a prestigious award that supports non-tenured faculty.

The five-year award recognizes junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.