Chemistry News

Congratulations to Mark Gordon

Congratulations to Mark Gordon, winner of the the 2015 ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry. This award recognizes innovative research in theoretical chemistry that either advances theoretical methodology or contributes to new discoveries about chemical systems.

Pat Thiel Wins 2014 Welch Award

Congratulations to Pat Thiel, winner of the 2014 Welch Award, which recognizes outstanding research in the fields of materials, interfaces and processing.

Edward Yu named Corbett Professor

Research led by Edward Yu could lead to new strategies for fighting bacterial infections in human cells.
Read more

John Burright and Joe Burnett

Congratulations to John Burright and Joe Burnett, who were given CELT's 2014 Learning Communities Partner Award.

Congratulations to Joe Burnett

Congratulations to Joe Burnett for being named the 2014 recipient of the Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma Teaching Impact Award. A citation in his nomination reads: "he has completely changed my opinion of chemistry in less than one semester...Dr. Burnett completely changed my view on chemistry by challenging me to understand all of the concepts and math behind chemistry, while also being patient when there was confusion."


Levi' Stanley's catalysis research is a trip

Levi' Stanley's catalysis research is a trip

Andrea Bakac reflects back on 37 years of Chemistry

Andrea Bakac reflects back on 37 years of Chemistry

Congratulations to Mei Hong

Congratulations to Mei Hong, who was among six to share the 2014 Laukien prize in NMR at the 55th ENC meeting.

Congratulations to Thomas Knief

Congratulations to Thomas Knief, a third-year student in Physics and Chemistry, who has been named a 2014 Goldwater Scholar. 

Established by United States Congress in 1986, the Goldwater recognizes students of outstanding potential who intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering research.

Dr. Oden Warren President of Hysitron

Dr. Oden Warren was recently named President of Hysitron, a leader in the development of nanomechanical test instruments in Minneapolis. He received his PhD under Patricia Thiel in 1993. You can read more about his work at Hysitron here:

Schmidt-Rohr selected Fellow of American Physical Society

Chemistry professor Klaus Schmidt-Rohr was one of seven scientists selected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society in the Division of Polymer Physics. The honor recognizes Schmidt-Rohr “for inventing and improving advanced solid-state NMR techniques that provide important new information about polymers, such as the Nafion used in fuel cells, those which occur naturally in plants and soils, and those which form nanocomposites in bone.” The criterion for election is “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.” Fellowship is an honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers, according to the society.

Research citations keep growing for Mark Gordon.

Professor Mark Gordon, an award-winning Iowa State University chemist – whose research has been published more than 550 times during his long career – has been cited thousands of times by other scientists. That’s quantity and quality.

Congratulations to Levi Stanley

Congratulations to Levi Stanley for receiving an NSF CAREER award. The CAREER award is given to junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Congratulations to Patricia Thiel

Congratulations to Patricia Thiel who was named an "outstanding referee" by the American Physical Society for Physical Review and Physical Review Letters.